Gluten-Free Diet

gluten free diet

Gluten is the protein found in wheat and other grains. Gluten can contribute to developing Celiac which is an inflammatory condition caused by intolerance to gluten. The inability to digest and process gluten may lead to inflammation of the intestines, vitamin deficiencies due to lack of absorption of nutrients, and bowel abnormalities.

Gluten may be found in many foods, especially processed foods and baked goods. The gluten-free diet involves eliminating all foods, beverages, and medications made from the offending grains.

This means all items made with flour (all-purpose, white, wheat) are prohibited — including pasta, bread, buns, pancakes, bagels, waffles, pizza, cakes, cookies, pie, most cereals, breaded foods, stuffing, gravies, crackers, most soups, alcoholics beverages and most convenience foods.

Many foods are naturally gluten-free, as they do not contain any wheat, rye, barley or oats. For example, all fresh meat, fish, cheese, eggs, milk, fruit and vegetables are gluten-free.

However, once such foods are processed or used as ingredients in other foods, great care must be taken to ensure that wheat or other gluten-containing cereals have not been added.

Upon diagnosis, it is very important for a person with Celiac disease to seek consultation from a registered dietitian with a specialty in Celiac disease and the gluten-free diet.

Staples of the gluten-free diet include:

Recommended Foods

Breads or bread products made from corn, rice, soy, arrowroot corn or potato starch, pea, potato or whole-bean flour, tapioca, sago, rice bran, cornmeal, buckwheat, millet, flax, teff, sorghum, amaranth, and quinoa

Hot cereals made from soy, hominy, hominy grits, brown and white rice, buckwheat groats, millet, cornmeal, and quinoa flakes

Puffed corn, rice or millet, and other rice and corn made with allowed ingredients

Rice, rice noodles, and pastas made from allowed ingredients

Some rice crackers and cakes, popped corn cakes made from allowed ingredients

Foods to Omit

Breads and baked products containing wheat, rye, triticale, barley, oats, rye oats, buckwheat, quinoa, teff, millet, amaranth, wheat germ or bran, graham, gluten or durum flour, wheat starch, oat bran, bulgur, farina, wheat-based semolina, spelt, kamut.

Cereals made from wheat, rye, triticale, barley, and oats; cereals with added malt extract and malt flavorings.

Pastas made from ingredients above.

Most crackers


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: